Belgium wins the IWAS Wheelchair Rugby European Championships 2009


In what has been an exciting Wheelchair Rugby European Championship IWAS are please to announce Belgium as the 2009 Winners.

Belgium wins The Wheelchair Rugby European Championships 2009

In a well-played EC final packed with intensity and action Belgium a bit surprisingly beat the great fighting Swedish team 49-46.
The two teams, who undoubtedly were the right finalists, were equal, until the end of the first period, which ended 11-11. I the second period Belgium and especially Lars Mertens, who is the top scorer of the whole tournament, caused Sweden serious defence problems and took the lead by to goals.
Third period was even closer and Sweden on an impressive fight and support from the spectators managed to catch up with the Belgians again at 29-29. Always dangerous Lars Mertens from Belgium scored to fast goals and the third period ended with a Belgian lead 32-31.

In the fourth period Sweden tried hard but the Belgians kept leading by one. In the last minutes of the final Lars Mertens and Ronald Verhaegen cemented the Belgian victory.
The 12 participating teams has for four days been competing for medals and qualification for the 2010 World Championships in Vancouver, Canada. The teams to represent Europe for next year’s World Championships are Belgium, Sweden, Germany, Great Britain, Poland and Finland. Denmark finished as number 9 of the 12 participating nations.

For all the tables and results please visit the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation’s website – click here