New Host Announced for IWAS Powerchair Hockey European Championships


New host nation confirmed for the much anticipated IWAS Powerchair Hockey European Championships due to commence on 11 July 2016.

IWAS and the IWAS Powerchair Hockey Executive Committee are pleased to confirm the new venue of the IWAS Powerchair Hockey European Championships after a withdrawal of the committee originally awarded the bid.  In response to the feedback from competing nations in regards to the importance of the competition dates, to allow the event to take place,  IWAS, with the invaluable support of volunteers will host the Championship as previously scheduled between 11 and 18 July 2016 in the Dutch province of De Rijp, North Holland .

Team delegations, officials and the LOC will be accommodated in Hotel De Rijper Eilanden while competition will be held in De Oosterven.

The allocated nations will remain the same and will see Finland, Spain, Denmark, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, Italy and now host nation, The Netherlands battle for the European title.

On Monday 13 March, teams will receive an updated information pack to include accommodation, transportation and financial updates.

IWAS and the Sport Executive Committee would like to thank all those involved for their ongoing support and positive feedback as a new venue was sought. We also extend our thanks to the patience and understanding of the participating teams during this time. 

For any further questions, please contact  IWAS PCH Executive Committee member and Competition Officer, Niels ten Hagen on