New anti-doping codes comes into force


New IWAS Anti-Doping Code comes into force alongside World Anti-Doping Agency requirements

The International Wheelchair and Amputee Sports Federation (IWAS) is reminding athletes and stakeholders that the 2021 World Anti-Doping Code and 2021 IWAS Anti-Doping Code came into force on 1 January.

The 2021 WADA List of Prohibited Substances and Methods is also now active alongside the Athletes’ Anti-Doping Rights Act and a series of International Standards.

All WADA documents are available in multiple languages on the WADA website.

The 2021 WADA Code includes a number of important changes to global anti-doping policies, rules and regulations within Anti-Doping Organizations (ADOs) like IWAS around the world. It works in conjunction with eight International Standards that foster consistency among ADOs in technical areas.

The 2021 IWAS Anti-Doping Code was developed in partnership with, and approved by, WADA and reflects the changes published in the 2021 WADA Code.

IWAS President, Rudi van den Abbeele, said: “As a former athlete myself I hold the principles of fair play close to my heart. I encourage all athletes, staff and our members to make sure they fully understand their rights and responsibilities for anti-doping.

“I would like to thank everyone who has been involved with getting the IWAS Anti-Doping Code approved by WADA. It is a huge amount of work, not least because of IWAS’ dual role as an International Federation for wheelchair fencing and major event organiser for multi-sport competitions such as the World Games. We are proud to have a Code that meets all of our responsibilities and allows us to be part of the fight against doping.

“IWAS will continue to support the community through education and awareness-raising. We must work together to tackle anti-doping and ensure a level-playing field.”

All athletes, support personnel and IWAS members must adhere to the WADA and IWAS Anti-Doping Codes, List of Prohibited Substances and Methods and International Standards.

The 2021 List of Prohibited Substances and Methods has been redesigned in order to improve navigation and usability for athletes and their support personnel. The List, which is one of the eight International Standards that are mandatory for all signatories of the WADA Code, designates what substances and methods are prohibited both in- and out-of-competition, and which substances are banned in particular sports.

International Standards

International Standard for Code Compliance by Signatories (ISCCS)

International Standard for Education (ISE) (New)

International Standard for Laboratories (ISL)

International Standard for the Protection of Privacy and Personal Information (ISPPPI)

International Standard for Results Management (ISRM) (New)

International Standard for Testing and Investigations (ISTI)

International Standard for Therapeutic Use Exemptions (ISTUE)

The Athletes’ Anti-Doping Rights Act, which was developed by WADA’s Athlete Committee in consultation with thousands of athletes and stakeholders worldwide, is based on the 2021 WADA Code and International Standards and aims to ensure that athlete rights within anti-doping are clearly set out, accessible, and universally applicable.