IWAS General Assembly Elects New President, Vice President and Executive Board


IWAS welcomes IWAS President, Rudi Van den Abbeele (FRA) and IWAS Vice President, Tariq Ahmad Bin Khadim Al Nuaimi (UAE). 

On 2nd December 2017, the IWAS General Assembly cast their votes for a new IWAS Executive Board in Monte Gordo, Portugal. 

IWAS is delighted to introduce the new IWAS President, Rudi Van den Abbeele (FRA) and IWAS Vice President, Tariq Ahmad Bin Khadim Al Nuaimi (UAE).


Rudi Van den Abbeele was elected with 20 votes from the 32 nation-strong Assembly present.

Upon election the new IWAS President said, ‘My vast experience as an athlete, international classifier and educator, has allowed me the insight into the space for growth in the Paralympic Movement. My position of President of IWAS is a new challenge to contribute to the organisation’s growth in the coming four years alongside a highly experienced Board.’

‘I look forward to bringing new projects and inititaves to benefit the athletes, our Member Nations and the global Paralympic Movement as a whole.’ 

Members at Large remaining on the Board for a new term are Karl Vilhelm Nielsen (DEN), Dina Sotiriadi (GRE) and Pavel Rozhkov (RUS) who was also appointed as 2nd Vice President.

New to the Board are Maryam Shokouhi of Iran, Ernesta Strydom of South Africa and Pal Szekeres of Hungary.

Sixteen years of Presidency came to a close for Paul De Pace who stepped down in an emotional farewell to the Membership.

‘It has been an honour to be a part of the changing landscape of the Paralympic Movement throughout my sixteen years as President of IWAS and it has been a privilege to lead this organisation.’

Through unanimous Assembly vote, Paul De Pace was awarded Honorary President of IWAS in recognition of his commitment to IWAS throughout his involvement. 

Paul DePace also received the Paralympic Order earlier this year in recognition of his contributions to the Movement.